Skip to main content

Local Government (3 tiers)

Evesham Town Council

Arrow image

Arrow image

Worcestershire County Council

1. Town Council   2. District Council   3. County Council


In this locality, the Town Council is the first of three tiers of local authority, the next levels being the District and County Councils. Each are responsible for different issues which concern Parishioners.  This website is specifically for information about Evesham Town Council but you can follow these links for more information about: Wychavon District Council, and Worcestershire County Council.


Town Councillors

Town Councillors give their time unpaid for the benefit of the community as a whole and have voluntarily been elected to office or have been co-opted.

Councillors are elected for a 4 year term. All Councillors stand for re-election every four years. Elections were last held in May 2015. Forthcoming elections will be held in 2019 and 2023.

If a Councillor stands down during the four year term a vacancy will be created. This will be duly notified and electors have the opportunity to call for an open election to find a new member for the Council. If no election is called the current Councillors are free to co-opt a new member to the Council for the remainder of the term. Vacancies for co-option are advertised as they arise.